Car “Game” with The Younger Boy

“Mom, want to play a game?  Let’s ask each other a bunch of questions about each other.  I want to know more about you.”  –Philip

“Well, how could I say no to that!!!  Of course, you go first.”

“Do you think Little-Girl-In-His-Class-Who-Will-Remain-Anonymous-To-Spare-Him-Future-Embarrassment is cute?”

“Yes, she’s a cute little girl.  Why do you like her?”

“Umm…because she’s cute.  (Insert ‘duh mom’ eye roll)  What’s your favorite color?”  Apparently, he didn’t want to further discuss Cute Girl.

“Blue.  What’s your favorite book?”

“The Magic Treehouse books.  What was your favorite book when you were a little girl?”

“Hmmm…I had so many!  I’ll go with Anne of Green Gables and the Nancy Drew books.  What’s your favorite movie?”

“Mom!  You know I have a bunch!  Alvin and the Chipmunks, Sharkboy and Lavagirl, SpyKids, Charlotte’s Web, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles...”

“Ok, sorry I asked.  You can stop now.”  <giggling>

“Who was your best friend when you were a little girl?  Not high school, when you were little.”

“At school, it was a girl named Denise.  In our neighborhood, it was Anna and Amanda.  Who’s your best friend?”

“Grant!  You should know that!”  <laughing hysterically at my stupidity>

After a few moments of quiet thought…“I can’t think of any more right now.  You can ask me more, though.”

“Ok, how do you feel about having a brother who’s special?”

“It’s good.  It makes our family special.  We’re different from other families.  I like being different.  And, John is good at stuff, Mom!  He’s the best video game player I’ve ever seen!  He’s good at video games, I’m good at reading, you’re good at crocheting, and Dad’s good at giving loans to farmers. (He’s a loan officer for an agricultural bank.)  We’re all good at something.  We’re all special.”

I live for moments like these, people.  So, I decided to press my luck with one more “serious” question.  “How do you feel about having a Mommy with MS?”  I knew he had been worried a lot lately, so I held my breath, wondering what he would say.

I could have never expected his answer.

“I’m sorry you feel bad, but it’s ok.  I wouldn’t change it.  I wouldn’t change anything about you, so if MS is part of you, then it’s ok.”

There was no more “game” at this point.  I continued to drive home–quietly–trying to understand how I could be so blessed with a child like this.  I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again–the kid amazes me at times.

Thank You, God, for my children.  I hope to one day teach them as much as they’ve taught me.

A rare moment of brotherly love.  My boys--Philip and John Edward

A rare moment of brotherly love. My boys–Philip and John Edward

I’m such a lucky gal…

What The Younger Boy Taught Me

What The Older Boy Taught Me

One thought on “Car “Game” with The Younger Boy

Leave a Reply

