Payback Works!

Well, it’s the end of the day, and I can safely say that we have been spared of any April Fool’s pranks.  The Younger Boy has been talking about pranking us for months, and I was starting to wonder if he was really going to pull something.  However, thanks to The Husband, I think Philip learned that pranks are no fun.

Yesterday afternoon I hear the following:

“Philip, you’re going to have to go to bed early tonight.” –Jeremy

“Why?  We don’t have school.” –Philip

“No, but we’re going to church at 6:30 in the morning, so you’ll need to get plenty of rest.”

“What?!?  Are we really going to church at 6:30?!?  Whyyyyyyyyy?”

“Because me and Mommy want to go, so you’ll have to come too.”

At this point, Philip huffs and puffs all the way to his room, where I continue to hear him mumbling under his breath.  His complaints include the following:

  • Awwwww, man.  We went to church all week this week!  Why do we have to go again?
  • This is not fair!
  • 6:30 is sooooooo early.
  • Daddy’s so mean!
  • I spent my whole vacation in church!

He’s having a regular gripe-fest, when I figure he had enough.  Plus, I don’t think it’s right to lie to your children about church.  I do, however, find great humor in the intensity of his disappointment and the fact that the worst thing Jeremy could come up with included worshiping Christ.  Nice example you’re setting there, honey.  Way to go.

I call him into my room, where I tell him that his dad is just teasing him, and this is his version of an early April Fool’s Day prank.  Suddenly, Philip does not seem to revere pranks as he once did.  He starts to whine, I can’t believe y’all!  That’s sooooooo mean.  How could you do that?!?

Uh oh, someone better call the Waaaaambulance.

Uh oh, someone better call the Waaaaambulance.

Remember that the horrible thing we did was to “threaten” Mass (which is always my favorite part of any day).  Are we awful or what?

I point out to him that he has been planning mean pranks for months, with The Older Boy being the victim of most of them.  He looks at me with a puzzled expression, and you can see the lesson slowly sinking in.  He finally smiles real big, and says, “Alright, Mom.  I get it.”

Lesson learned, and I was spared from having to referee two tricksters.  Plus, I was thoroughly entertained by Philip’s pain.

Ah, the joys of parenthood.

I know–we’re horrible people.  Don’t judge; just pray for us.  :)

Leave a Reply

